Grant in the News

Recent Press Releases

Jefferson and Grant Named Wisconsin Schools of Recognition
State School Superintendent Tony Evers praised Jefferson Elementary School and Grant Elementary School for being among 118 schools in the state that received Wisconsin School of Recognition honors for the 2011-12 school year during a special Oct. 12 ceremony at the State Capitol in Madison.

Jefferson Elementary School has been recognized as a School of Recognition for the last four years. Grant Elementary School has been recognized for the last two years and was also recognized in 2008-09.

Jefferson Principal Bill Klein and Grant Principal Deb Streblow have both credited their staff members for ensuring students’ reach their full potential and for creating a learning environment that fosters success. Klein said the award recognizes schools that find ways to help students overcome socioeconomic setbacks and become great learners. Streblow said the implementation of a positive behavior system and character education has had a positive impact on academic performance.

“Partnerships among teachers, parents, administrators, school staff members, and the community contribute to the academic success of students in schools that receive this honor,” Tony Evers said.

To be eligible for the award, a school must:
•    be a Title I School,
•    be in the top quartile of the state poverty rates as identified by free/reduced lunch percentages,
•    have above-average student academic-performance scores on the 2010-2011 Wisconsin Knowledge and Concepts Examination (WKCE) in reading and mathematics when compared to schools of similar size, grade configuration, poverty level and district size, and
•    have met adequate yearly progress indicators for the last two consecutive years.

The Award includes $5,000 to be used for school-related purposes. Jefferson plans to use the funds for educational field trips and Grant plans to fund staff development and high-tech equipment for students.

Lynn Pekulik, fourth grade teacher at Jefferson Elementary School (left) accepted the award from State Superintendent Tony Evers, along with Deb Ericsson, second grade teacher and Bill Klein, Principal of Jefferson Elementary School. 
Lisa Biemann, Grant School Counselor (left) and Ann Meseck, first grade teacher (right), accepted the award from Tony Evers, State Superintendent.
Sheboygan Area School District Press Release
October 14, 2011