Longfellow in the News

Recent Press Releases

Tenth Annual Battle of the Books a Positive Endeavor

Students from throughout the Sheboygan Area School District participated in the tenth annual Battle of the Books competition, which took place on Wednesday, February 25, 2009, at Jefferson Elementary School.

The literacy competition is designed to motivate students to have fun reading and encourage book discussions, while promoting responsibility and cooperative behavior.

Teams of fifth grade students were formed with children representing different elementary schools from throughout SASD. Each team member was responsible for reading nine books from a list of 27 assigned books. The books covered a variety of levels, genres and interests.

A total of 64 teams participated this year with the top 20 teams being recognized with individual ribbons, medals or trophies.

The Battle of the Books was organized by Lori Roelse from Longfellow School and Holly Hansen-Grotbeck from Sheridan School.

The top five teams and their members are

  • First place �Team 29 (Hailey H-Lincoln-Erdman, Holli R-Wilson, Jordan W-Jackson, Dominque W- Sheridan, Ezra C-Cooper,and Sam K-Pigeon River)
  • Second place �Team 31 (Yessica R-- River,Alexa S-Wilson; Mason K-Jackson; Karley C-Lincoln-Erdman; Andrew W-Sheridan; and Riley K-Cooper
  • Third place -- Team 24 (Jasmine M-Cooper; Delilah D-Pigeon River; Ben B-Madison; Happy X-Lincoln-Erdman; Jerry J-Jefferson; and Abby B. Jackson)
  • Fourth place -- Team 46 (Cing L-Jackson; Allison P-Lincoln-Erdman; Ellie L-Jefferson; Ben R-Wilson; Chase H-Madison; and Shermeng V-Pigeon River
  • Fifth place -- Team 47 (Annette T-Jackson; Tim O-Pigeon River; Peter X-Jefferson; Alexis M-Sheridan; and Courtney M-Wilson)
Sheboygan Area School District Press Release
March 3, 2009