News & Media


SASD Press Archives

Jefferson Receives New Promise School Recognition

State Superintendent Elizabeth Burmaster praised Jefferson Elementary School for being among 180 schools in the state that received the New Wisconsin Promise School of Recognition honors for the current school year during a special ceremony at the State Capitol in Madison, Wisconsin on October 13.

Burmaster welcomed Bill Klein (principal), Ann Rodewald (reading specialist), Jean Johnson
(library-media educational assistant), Edie Krizenesky (school secretary) to the ceremony.

Jefferson School was honored with the New Wisconsin Promise School of Recognition Award for working with their local communities to raise achievement scores for all of their students.

The students will receive academic T-shirts to celebrate their success.

"Being named a New Wisconsin Promise School of Recognition celebrates the efforts schools make to create a learning climate that supports every student," Burmaster stated. "It is the work of parents, teachers, administrators, and other staff members at Jefferson that contribute to student success and helps us fulfill our New Wisconsin Promise to provide a quality education for every child and to close the achievement gap between economically disadvantaged students and their peers."

Faith Olmedo, former Jefferson PTO president said, "Jefferson School is the heart and soul of the community. We are fortunate to have such a dedicated staff to be working with our students."

Sheboygan Area School District Press Release
October 30, 2008