News & Media


SASD Press Archives

North High School FBLA Students to Advance to National Conference

The Sheboygan North High School FBLA chapter placed 3rd as "Outstanding State Chapter" out of 161 chapters at the 55th Wisconsin Future Business Leaders of America Leadership Conference hosted in Milwaukee, on April 2 and 3, 2009. The advisers are Linda Bolgert and Thomas Gross.

The State Leadership Conference brought outstanding young adults together for an unforgettable experience of FBLA enthusiasm. This year, over 2,300 students, advisers, and guests participated in this conference.

FBLA members from all areas of the state gathered in Milwaukee at the Midwest Center to attend workshops and three delegate assemblies, elect their new State Executive Board members, and compete in competitive events such as Accounting, Desktop Publishing, Banking & Financial Systems, 3-Business, Website Development, Cyber Security, Network Design, Database Applications, and Entrepreneurship at the state level.

The keynote speaker this year was Todd Gehrmann. He is a founding partner of FOCUS Training. He has been a professional leadership trainer and speaker for 16 years. His message, "Achieving Excellence through Understanding and Action," was both educational and motivational. He is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin.

Our local chapter at North High School, sent 45 members to represent our school. Local members who placed in the "Top 10 at State" are:

Bai Xiong, third place in Database Design and Applications; Jim Cila, Josh Doro, and Stewart Leis, third place in Network Design; Bradley Heckner, fourth place in Introduction to Technology Concepts; Derick Adams, fifth place in Accounting II; Anne Wiesman, fifth place in FBLA Principles and Procedures; Alice Zhao, seventh place in Business Calculations; Taylor Waibel, seventh place in Cyber Security; Andrew Bayliss, Nicole Green, Kelly Lamb, and Hayley Norris, seventh place in Parliamentary Procedure; Matt Guelig, seventh place in Spreadsheet Applications.

The following first- and second-place winners will be advancing to the FBLA National Leadership Conference that will be hosted in Anaheim, California from June 25-28, 2009:

Sam Gilbertson, first place in Client Service; Matt Griffith, first place in Internet Application Design Programming; Kevin Chen, second place in Introduction to Parliamentary Procedure; Alex Liebl and Amanda Senkbeil, second place in Management Decision Making.

Members of the North FBLA chapter from left to right are Sam Gilbertson, Bradley Heckner, Kevin Chen,
Derick Adams, Jim Cila, Josh Doro, Stewart Leis, Alex Liebl, Amanda Senkbeil, Bai Xiong, and Matt
Griffith. Anne Wiesman not pictured.
Sheboygan Area School District Press Release
May 5, 2009