News & Media


SASD Press Archives

SASD's Sharon Daun Named Wisconsin School Nurse of the Year

The Wisconsin Association of School Nurses announced that Sharon Daun of the Sheboygan Area School District (SASD) was selected as Wisconsin School Nurse of the Year at its conference in Madison Wisconsin.

Daun won the 2009 School Nurse of the Year Award after being nominated by SASD Assistant Superintendent Diane Wilcenski and selected by a panel of judges.

Daun has worked for SASD for 10 years. She is a graduate of Marian College of Nursing and has a Masters Degree in Management from Cardinal Stritch College. She is a member of the National Association of School Nurses and the Wisconsin Association of School Nurses.

Daun worked for the Sheboygan Health Department as well as the Sheboygan Medical Center, before joining the Sheboygan Area School District.

She is a National Certified School Nurse and DPI certified School Nurse and has been instrumental obtaining a dental sealant program for qualified students. She has championed the CPR/AED program for the school district. Daun acts as a resource for students, staff, administration and parents. Daun has provided assistance to the employee health as well with TB screening and Hepatitis B clinics.

Daun has worked to improve the well-being of the most medically fragile students. She wrote a grant to increase the number of school nurses employed the district. Her impact on the school district is visible at all levels, with students, with policy and with the community.

She has been invited to apply for the National Association of School Nurses School Nurse of the Year Award in October 2009.

Sheboygan Area School District Press Release
July 18, 2009