News & Media


SASD Press Archives

South High Math Team Takes First Place at Lakeland

Lakeland College held its annual High School Mathematics Contest on Wednesday, October 21. A mathematics team from Sheboygan South High School captured first place out of a total of 36 teams entered. Members of the winning Sheboygan South team were seniors; Zach Bennin, Travis Dumez, Angie Gorter, and Noah Reetz, juniors; Zakary Plautz, Alex Holmes, and Jake Raml, and freshman Heath Reinl. Second and third place went to teams from Sheboygan North.

Students from Sheboygan County Christian High School, Sheboygan Falls High School and Oostburg High School also competed that night. The annual Lakeland High School Mathematics Contest has been held every year since 1990.

Martin Aviles and Noah Reetz from South won medals for the top individual scores with 40 out of a possible 40 points. Third place went to Zach Bennin, Travis Dumez, Angie Gorter, and Alex Holmes from South and David Britton, Chamilaharindi Amithirigala, Tyler Stank, and Joseph Hameister from North with a scores of 36

Six other Sheboygan students won Honorable Mention awards. Alice Zhao, Otto Kletzein, and Kaitlyn Laning from North were among four students tied for twelfth place. A seven way tie for sixteenth place included Trenton Vandewater from North, and Jake Kaml and Mitchell Fox from South.

Sheboygan Area School District Press Release
November 18, 2009