News & Media


School News

Grant and Jefferson Earn School of Recognition Award, Again
Jefferson Elementary School and Grant Elementary School have again been selected as Wisconsin Schools of Recognition. Jefferson Elementary School has been recognized as a School of Recognition for six consecutive years. This is the fourth consecutive year that Grant Elementary School has been recognized for the award.
Jefferson Principal Bill Klein and Grant Principal Deb Streblow have both credited their staff members for ensuring students’ reach their full potential and for creating a learning environment that fosters success. Klein said the award recognizes schools that find ways to help students overcome socioeconomic setbacks and become great learners. Streblow said the implementation of a positive behavior system and character education has had a positive impact on academic performance. In a press release announcing statewide award recipients, State Superintendent Tony Evers said “The staff and administration of these schools are committed to breaking the link between poverty and low academic achievement through rigorous programming and attention to student needs.”
Both schools were recognized for meeting the following criteria:
•         be a Title I School
•         be in the top 25% of high-poverty schools in the state
•         have above-average student achievement scores in reading and mathematics when compared to schools from similarly sized districts, schools, grade configurations and poverty levels.

The schools will be recognized at an awards banquet at the State Capitol on October 8. Each school will receive a plaque and $500 for use by the school.
Sheboygan Area School District Press Release
September 13, 2013