Positive Behavior and Intervention Supports


 

What is a leadership team?

diagram

A leadership team is needed to lead the assessment and action planning process. The objective of the team is to increase capacity in four primary areas:

  • Training Capacity refers to the system’s ability to self-assess for specific programmatic and staff development needs and objectives, develop a training action plan, invest in increasing local training capacity, and implement effective and efficient training activities.
  • Coaching Capacity refers to the system’s ability to organize personnel and resources for facilitating, assisting, maintaining, and adapting local school training implementation efforts. Resources are committed for both initial training and on-going implementation support.
  • Evaluation Capacity refers to the system’s ability to establish measurable outcomes, methods for evaluating progress toward these measurable outcomes, and modified or adapted action plans based on these evaluations.
  • Coordination Capacity refers to the system’s ability to establish an operational organization and “rhythm” that enables effective and efficient utilization of materials, time, personnel, etc. in the implementation of an action plan.

To enable and support the leadership team’s efforts, the PBIS implementation must have
(a) adequate and sustained funding support;
(b) regular, wide, and meaningful visibility; and
(c) relevant and effective political support.

What are the Major Responsibilities of the Leadership Team?

The leadership team works together to decide how many schools are to be involved in the effort. Major responsibilities include:
  • Completing a self assessment
  • Creating a 3-5 year action plan
  • Establishing regularly scheduled meetings
  • Identifying a coordinator to manage and facilitate
  • Securing stable funding for efforts
  • Developing a dissemination strategy to establish visibility (website, newsletter, conferences, TV)
  • Ensuring student social behavior is the top priority of the district
  • Establishing trainers to build and sustain school-wide PBIS practices.
  • Developing a coaching network (each school identifies a school coach to facilitate)
  • Evaluating school-wide PBIS efforts.

Who Serves on the Sheboygan Area School District Leadership Team?

Seth Harvatine, Director of Instructional Services
email: sharvatine@sheboygan.k12.wi.us

Tom Nebel, Coordinator of Special Education
email: tnebel@sheboygan.k12.wi.us

Mike Trimberger, Principal, South High School
email: mtrimberger@sheboygan.k12.wi.us

Kelly Cvetan, Principal, Sheridan Elementary
email: kcvetan@sheboygan.k12.wi.us

Todd Reinke, Principal, Longfellow Elementary
email: treinke@sheboygan.k12.wi.us

Kathy Kobelsky, School Psychologist/External Coach/District Data Coordinator
email: kkoblesky@sheboygan.k12.wi.us

Lisa Biemann, School Counselor/Internal Coach, Grant Elementary
email: lbiemann@sheboygan.k12.wi.us

Tammy Olig, School Counselor/Internal Coach, Longfellow Elementary
email: tolig@sheboygan@sheboygan.k12.wi.us

Sara Sandman, School Counselor/Internal Coach, Farnsworth Middle School
email: ssandman@sheboygan.k12.wi.us

Jeanna Goodman, School Counselor/Internal Coach, Sheridan Elementary
email: jgoodman@sheboygan.k12.wi.us

Ann Chambers, External Coach
email: achambers@sheboygan.k12.wi.us

Amy Brown, Teacher, Urban
email:abrown@sheboygan.k12.wi.us

Carla Vorphal, Social Worker
email:cvorpahl@sheboygan.k12.wi.us

Diane Moon, Teacher, Jefferson
email:dmoon@sheboygan.k12.wi.us

Char Pachniak, Community Representative
email: char@pachniak.com

Troy Wagner, Assistant Principal, Horace Mann
email:twagner@sheboygan.k12.wi.us

Lori Guetschow, Special Education Support Teacher
email: lguetschow@sheboygan.k12.wi.us

Lee Thennes, Associate Principal, North High School
email: lthennes@sheboygan.k12.wi.us

Mark Holzman, Asst. Superintendent of Student and Instructional Services
email: mholzman@sheboygan.k12.wi.us