News & Media


SASD Press Archives

Sheboygan High School Students Place in Top Spots at Lakeland Math Meet

Twenty-nine teams and 230 students participated in the Lakeland Math Meet, the largest high school competition of its kind in the state of Wisconsin.

The area's participating schools included Sheboygan South, Sheboygan North, Howards Grove, Cedar Grove-Belgium, Sheboygan County Christian, Oostburg and Plymouth High Schools.

For the thirteenth consecutive year a Sheboygan North High School team earned first place. Members of the Sheboygan North team were: seniors Andrew Bayliss, Justin Dreikosen, Taylor Waibel, and Julia Livermore; juniors Matt Griffith and Alice Zhao; sophomore Jonathan Wheeler; and freshman Chamilaharindi Amithirigala.

Sheboygan South High School came in second place. Team members included seniors Rebecca Brandt, Derek Damrow, Dan Grossheim, Jake Veldboom; and juniors Zach Bennin, Travis Dumez and Noah Reetz and freshman Mitchell Fox.

Another team from Sheboygan North High School came in third place. Members of that team include seniors Ali Allan, Lake Chen and Nathan Tesch; juniors Tommy Nonweiler; sophomores Otto Kletzein, Kaitlyn Laning and Brandon Pakkebier; and freshman Lindsay Raleigh.

Sheboygan South High School had a total of 75 students participate. Individual medal winners were: third place, junior Travis Dumez; ninth place, junior Yao Xiang (Chinese exchange student); fourteenth place, senior Dan Grossheim and junior Noah Reetz.

Sheboygan North High School individual award winners were: first place, Jonathan Wheeler; third place, Taylor Waibel and Brandon Pakkebier; sixth place, Alice Zhao and Kaitlyn Laning; ninth place, Justin Dreikosen; and honorable mentions Matt Griffith, Chamilaharindi Amithirigala, Otto Kletzein and Tyler Stank.

Sheboygan Area School District Press Release
October 30, 2008