News & Media


SASD Press Archives

Six North Students Receive National Merit Scholarship Recognition

Two Sheboygan North High School seniors have been awarded a Certificate of Merit from the National Merit Scholarships, becoming finalists in the 2009 national scholarship contest.

The selected students are Erin Britton and Timothy Knoedler.

To become a Finalist, a Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by the school principal, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student's earlier qualifying test performance. The Semifinalist and a school official must submit a detailed scholarship application, which includes the student's self descriptive essay and information about the Semifinalist's participation and leadership in school and community activities.

Approximately 16,000 Semifinalists advanced to the Finalist level and it is from this group that all Merit Scholarship winners will be chosen. Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin or religious preference.

Four North seniors were named commended students in the 2009 National Merit Scholarship program. The commended students are Andrew Bayliss, Suzanna Eddy, Laura Jacobson and Laurel Mills.

About 34,000 commended students throughout the nation are recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they do not continue in the 2009 competition for National Merit Scholarships, Commended students placed among the top 5 of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2009 competition.

Sheboygan Area School District Press Release
May 14, 2009