

## BOARD OF EDUCATION SHEBOYGAN AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT Sheboygan, Wisconsin

## ANNUAL REORGANIZATION MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, April 25, 2023

The Annual Reorganization Meeting of the Board of Education of the Sheboygan Area School District was held on Tuesday, April 25, 2023 at 6:00 p.m. at the Administrative Services Building, Board of Education meeting room, 3330 Stahl Road, Sheboygan, Wisconsin.

Present: Ms. Mary Lynne Donohue, Dr. Susan Hein, Mr. Mark Mancl, Ms. Kay Robbins, Mr. Ryan Burg (arrived at 6:13 p.m.), Mr. Santino Laster, Ms. Rebecca Versey, Ms. Heidi Boehmer, and Ms. Sarah Ruiz-Harrison

President Mary Lynne Donohue called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Moved by Dr. Hein, seconded by Ms. Robbins to approve the agenda as presented. All ayes. Motion carried unanimously.

Dr. Susan Hein, Clerk, administered the Oath of Office to re-elected board members Ms. Kay Robbins and Ms. Sarah Ruiz-Harrison, and new board member Ms. Heidi Boehmer.

Ms. Donohue called for nominations for President.

Moved by Ms. Robbins, seconded by Dr. Hein to nominate Ms. Mary Lynne Donohue as President. A voice vote was taken and the vote for Ms. Donohue was unanimous. Ms. Donohue was declared the President.

Ms. Donohue called for nominations for Vice President.

Moved by Dr. Hein, seconded by Ms. Robbins to nominate Mr. Santino Laster as Vice President. A voice vote was taken and the vote for Mr. Laster was unanimous. Mr. Laster was declared the Vice President.

Ms. Donohue called for nominations for Treasurer.

Moved by Ms. Donohue, seconded by Dr. Hein to nominate Ms. Kay Robbins as Treasurer. A voice vote was taken and the vote for Ms. Robbins was unanimous. Ms. Robbins was declared the Treasurer.

Ms. Donohue called for nominations for Clerk.

Moved by Mr. Mancl, seconded by Ms. Robbins to nominate Mr. Ryan Burg as Clerk.

Moved by Mr. Laster, seconded by Ms. Versey to nominate Dr. Susan Hein as Clerk.

Ms. Donohue called for any other nominations and declared nominations closed.

Ballots were distributed to elect a Clerk. The vote was Dr. Susan Hein 5 votes, Mr. Ryan Burg 3 votes.

Dr. Susan Hein was declared the Clerk.

The Board reviewed Policy 0144.5 – Board Member Behavior and Code of Conduct and Ms. Donohue provided an overview on how email communications are being handled and asked board members to put cell phones away during meetings.

Moved by Mr. Laster, seconded by Dr. Hein to approve the designation of the Bank of New York Mellon Trust Company, N.A., Wells Fargo Bank Wisconsin, N.A., U S Bank N.A., Associated Bank, N.A., BMO Financial Group, Johnson Bank, Bank First National, Wisconsin Bank and Trust, Cleveland State Bank, Kohler Credit Union, Local Government Investment Pool, and Wisconsin Investment Series Cooperative, as depositories for Sheboygan Area School District funds, its investments, its short term lines of credit, the Recreation Department, and various schools located within the Sheboygan Area School District for their banking needs. All ayes. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Mr. Laster, seconded by Dr. Hein that the administration be authorized to extend the use of facsimile signatures of officers who have been placed in the President, Treasurer or Clerk's positions or members who are no longer on the Board of Education through June 30, 2023, as provided in Bylaw 0152. All ayes. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Mr. Laster, seconded by Dr. Hein that the designated publisher of the Board of Education proceedings is the <u>Sheboygan Press</u>. All ayes. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Mr. Burg, seconded by Mr. Laster that the administration be authorized to pay salaries and have the same confirmed by the Board of Education at the next regular meeting. All ayes. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Boehlke reviewed the post-employment benefit trust fund balance sheet noting that the HRA's are funded in this account. The obligation is fully funded at this point with the HRA accounts as guaranteed rate accounts. He added there would be more discussion as part of the preliminary budget presentation.

Moved by Mr. Laster, seconded by Dr. Hein to appoint Mr. Burg as the delegate to the CESA Annual Convention on May 10, 2023. All ayes. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Mr. Mancl, seconded by Mr. Laster to appoint Mr. Burg as the Delegate and Ms. Versey as the alternative delegate to the WASB Annual Convention on January 17-19, 2024. All ayes. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Mr. Burg, seconded by Mr. Mancl to approve Board of Education salaries at the current level. All ayes. Motion carried unanimously.

Ms. Donohue commented that the Board has the ability to adjust their salaries at any time so this item will discussed further as part of the June Planning Session.

Moved by Mr. Burg, seconded by Mr. Mancl to adjourn at 6:20 p.m. All ayes. Motion carried unanimously.

Sett a. Het

Seth A. Harvatine Superintendent & Secretary

SAH:jjh