SASD Welcomes New School and District Leaders

September 13, 2021

The Sheboygan Area School District welcomes new school and district leaders for the 2021-22 school year:

Clarissa Ramos is the new Principal at Pigeon River Elementary School. Ms. Ramos comes to the district from Milwaukee Public Schools with administrative experience as a Principal and Head Start Supervisor. She also gained administrative and teaching experience while working in charter schools in Milwaukee. She replaced Kelly Blum, who will be joining the Student & Instructional Services team at Central Office as a Coordinator of Student and Instructional Services.

Alicia Schwinn is the new Principal at Cleveland Elementary School. Ms. Schwinn previously taught at Lincoln-Erdman Elementary School and is returning to the district from Random Lake School District where she served in a blended administrative and teacher role within special education. In addition to her duties as Cleveland principal, Ms. Schwinn will be a special education teacher serving homebound and private school students.

True Vang is the new Principal at Jefferson Elementary School. Mr. Vang comes to the district after serving ten years in the Eau Claire Area School District, with his most recent assignment being the administrator of Flynn Elementary School.

Jennifer Kager is the new Assistant Principal at Urban Middle School. Ms. Kager has served as the Dean of Students at North High School for the past four years.

Mark Wittig has been hired as an Associate Principal at North High School. Mr. Wittig served as a School Counselor at Slinger Middle School for the last nine years before coming to the Sheboygan Area School District.

Joe O’Brien has been selected as the new Dean of Students at North High School. For the last seven years, Mr. O'Brien has served as a school counselor at North High School. In addition to his role as School Counselor and Dean of Students, Mr. O’Brien has served as the Head Football Coach, Assistant Track and Field Coach, and Raider Strength Coordinator. Mr. O’Brien received the Herb Kohl Fellowship Award in the 2019-2020 School Year for his Academic and Career Planning work at North High School and with the community at large.

Kelly Blum has joined the Student & Instructional Services team at Central Office as a Coordinator of Student and Instructional Services. In addition to overseeing assessment, science, and world language, Mrs. Blum will continue to oversee the District’s English Learner (EL) program. Previously, Ms. Blum served as the Principal of Pigeon River Elementary School for seven years.

Josh Kestell has joined the Student & Instructional Services team as a Coordinator of Special Education and Pupil Services. He will oversee the CHANGE Academy program, which serves students in grades 6-12 who are experiencing significant emotional and/or behavioral challenges in the traditional school setting, in addition to supporting our district-wide Special Education programs. Mr. Kestell was previously an Associate Principal at South High School for four years.

William Thompkins IV has been appointed as the South High School Associate Principal. For the past four years, Mr. Thompkins served as the Dean of Students/Clubs and Activities Director at Indian Trail High School in the Kenosha Unified School District.

“Our new school and district leaders bring years of experience to their positions and our community will be well served by their leadership,” said Seth Harvatine, Superintendent of the Sheboygan Area School District.


Explore upcoming events in the Sheboygan Area School District!